My Grandmother’s Plates

Last night we ate dinner on my grandmother’s plates

I have used them since my parents gave them to me on the weekend. Sturdy yet their history can make you so afraid

They cannot be replaced. They are unique

So am I, yet my vitality and beating heart make me sure that each second I waste

Changes made can be undone

Or altered besides. We are cocky as we breath in and out and navigate from one day to the next

Yet are those changes might never be undone

Whether they are needed or not, life is relentless like that

Memories of my grandmother’s room are so vivid

The varnish and wood smell of the cabinet beside her bed; the books she kept inside

Her soft wrinkles and the hard, sharp sound of her Londondary voice

While I was with her I felt loved in myself. I remember her tight and bony cuddles and I did like them

Though my own comfort in the embrace in others has come at a time closer to those plates coming to live in my willow-patterned cupboards.

It is perplexing the way of our hearts opening

And painful

Lonely as they have the right to choose

And not choose us

Frightening

As understanding unleashes a tide of memories

Their fear is palpable; lurking like shadows in the hallways of my mind

Vivid. If I still had access to the parts of me that still felt that filty worthlessness I would want nothing more than to tear away every shred, skin, soul and memory

But that voiceless waif is gone

She can question, however tentatively

Hold her own self

Not to waver, quaver, run and fall

However all enticing those memories in their fragments

Like my grandmother’s plates I can choose a new path

It might be so far removed from any experience they, or I

Encapture

I might be so, so frightened to use and taint them

But if I let them gather dust what will that prove?

Confidence is more a tide than a rising anchor

It’s ebb and flow equivocal to our struggles

Whether that is how we are seen or not

Like my grandmother’s plates I will prevail

Rose Chintz and a determined smile

My grandmother died long ago

I hope she would be proud

Leave a comment