Image-in

There are memories which feel almost tangible

They weigh heavily like stones

Like the dark moss carpet

And the night shadows through the frosted front door

Different to the friendly figures I might have imagined on my bedroom walls

It feels as though I’m waiting

I remember feeling that intensely

Held deep inside. Waiting and fearful

It was almost superstition

My life

Try to be good. Not to anger, or anger them

Not to be bad

And I felt so hideously wrong

Filthy

As the memories come flooding back

The white mottle of the street lights through the trees outside

I spent hours awake watching those walls at night

Why can’t I remember?

Why this fear, blistering every cell?

What came in those shadows I feel?

It’s uncanny after such trepidation of touch

To long to be held

There used to be such a burden of filth and hatred in me. Thick and screaming

Rarely have I been able to let someone hold onto me among these whispered shrieks

I flinched at every impact. The room

Felt too near my childhood

It’s a calculated leap

And I am ready for the fall

Nobody leaves at the worst times

It’s later as the sun fades the night away

Perhaps, as we have long since learned

The gospel chanted and scribbled early on the walls of those young years is falacy

But still nobody stays

It’s not the old wounds that smart and sting

But the new, raw skin still longing to trust their exposure

Maybe there was love then

But now it is different

I still want it, despite myself

Leave a comment